- Homepage for the Wine Industry

Suzanne Groth of Groth Vineyards & Winery Elected Wine Institute Chairman 2021-2022

Posted on June 10, 2021


SAN FRANCISCO — Suzanne Groth, President and CEO of Groth Vineyards & Winery, headquartered in Oakville, CA, was elected Wine Institute Board Chairman for the 2021-2022 fiscal year at the organization’s 87th Annual Meeting of Members. Other officers elected were Rick Tigner of Jackson Family Wines in Santa Rosa, First Vice Chairman; Randall Lange of LangeTwins Family Vineyards and Winery in Acampo, Second Vice Chairman; Matt Gallo of E. & J. Gallo Winery in Modesto, Treasurer; and Robin Baggett of Alpha Omega Winery in Rutherford and Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo, Secretary. Bobby Koch is President and CEO of Wine Institute.

“We California vintners are so fortunate to be growing and producing our iconic wines here in an ideal and diverse climate. Even with the many challenges we face, especially in the last year of unprecedented times, we find golden opportunities,” said Suzanne Groth, Groth Vineyards & Winery President and CEO. “If a vintner’s quest is to grow and make the best wines in the world, there is not a better soil, climate and access to market than California.” 

As a second-generation family member of Groth Vineyards & Winery, Groth became President and CEO in 2017. She previously led the family business as Vice President of Sales and Marketing and prior to that worked in wine sales and public relations, for a combined 19 years. Previously, Groth worked for the Henry Wine Group, a California wine distributor where she sold wine to San Francisco restaurants and retailers.

Groth Vineyards & Winery has been a member of Wine Institute since 1984 and Groth has served as a board member since 2014. Groth has also served as President of the Oakville Winegrowers since 2019 and been member of the Board of Directors since 2013.

Wine Institute’s membership also elected new district and at-large directors and alternates. District directors and their alternates were elected on a one-member-one-vote basis in each district, following nominations by regional winery associations. They are:


Director: Kaj Ahlmann—Six Sigma Winery

Alternate Director: John Kane—Fetzer Vineyards



  • Julie Pedroncelli St. John—J. Pedroncelli Winery
  • Katie Wetzel Murphy—Alexander Valley Vineyards
  • Tobin Ginter—Rodney Strong Vineyards
  • Steven MacRostie—MacRostie Winery & Vineyards

Alternate Directors:

  • Ana Keller—Keller Estate
  • Alan Ramey—Ramey Wine Cellars
  • Christopher Lloyd—Senses Wine
  • James Perry—Sonoma-Cutrer Vineyards



  • Suzanne Groth—Groth Vineyards & Winery
  • Hugh Davies—Schramsberg Vineyards
  • Dennis Cakebread—Cakebread Cellars
  • Robin Baggett—Alpha Omega Winery, Tolosa Winery
  • Mike Reynolds—HALL Wines

Alternate Directors:

  • Delia Viader—Viader Vineyards & Winery
  • Michael Maher—Harlan Estate
  • Chris Hall—Long Meadow Ranch Winery
  • Amelia Morán Ceja—Ceja Vineyards
  • Paul Leary—Palmaz Vineyards

San Francisco Bay

Director: Amanda Kent—Darcie Kent Vineyards

Alternate Director: William Cooper—Cooper-Garrod Estate Vineyards

Monterey Bay 

Director: Scott Scheid—Scheid Vineyards

Central Coast 


  • Nicholas Miller—Miller Family Wine Company
  • Laura Booras—Riverbench Vineyard & Winery
  • Gretchen Roddick—Hope Family Wines
  • Gary Eberle—Eberle Winery

Alternate Directors:

  • Maeve Pesquera—DAOU Vineyards & Winery
  • Karen Steinwachs—Buttonwood Farm Winery
  • Clarence Chia—Justin Vineyards & Winery

Southern California

Director: Steve Kahle—Woof’n Rose Winery

Alternate Director: Linda McWilliams—San Pasqual Winery


Director: Steve Millier—Milliaire Winery

Alternate Director: Stuart Mast—Brice Station Vintners

Northern Interior

Director: Randall Lange—LangeTwins Family Vineyards and Winery

Alternate Director: David Phillips—Michael-David Winery

Southern Interior

Director: Kyle W. Ray—ASV Wines

Alternate Director: John Allbaugh—Bronco Wine Company

All members elected 20 at-large directors who had been nominated by the Institute's Finance and Administration Committee. Alternates were chosen by at-large directors.

At-large Director: Corey Beck—Francis Ford Coppola Presents

  • Alternate: Kenneth Miniami—Francis Ford Coppola Presents

At-large Director: Giancarlo Bianchetti—Fetzer Vineyards

  • Alternate: Erik Olsen—Fetzer Vineyards

At-large Director: James E. Coleman—E. & J. Gallo Winery

  • Alternate: To be announced

At-large Director: Matt Deegan—Constellation Brands, Inc.

  • Alternate: Sam Glaetzer—Constellation Brands, Inc.

At-large Director: Ben Dollard—Treasury Wine Estates

  • Alternate: Debra Dommen—Treasury Wine Estates

At-large Director: Michael Drobnick—O'Neill Vintners & Distillers

  • Alternate: Matthew Towers—O'Neill Vintners & Distillers

At-large Director: Jeffrey Dubiel—The Wine Group

  • Alternate: Keith Bauman—The Wine Group

At-large Director: Matthew J. Gallo—E. & J. Gallo Winery

  • Alternate: Stephanie Gallo—E. & J. Gallo Winery

At-large Director: Cate Hardy—The Wine Group

  • Alternate: Amy Hoopes—The Wine Group

At-large Director: Cheryl Indelicato—Delicato Family Wines

  • Alternate: Mark Merrion—Delicato Family Wines

At-large Director: Peter N. Larson—Trinchero Family Estates

  • Alternate: Roger J. Trinchero—Trinchero Family Estates

At-large Director: Daniel Leonard—Bronco Wine Company

  • Alternate: Chris Mifsud—Bronco Wine Company

At-large Director: Lawrence T. Lohr—J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

  • Alternate: Jeff Humphreys—J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

At-large Director: Alex Ryan—Duckhorn Wine Company

  • Alternate: Sean Sullivan—Duckhorn Wine Company

At-large Director: Viviann Stapp—Jackson Family Wines

  • Alternate: Carolyn Wasem—Jackson Family Wines

At-large Director: Rick Tigner—Jackson Family Wines

  • Alternate: Katie Jackson—Jackson Family Wines

At-large Director: Robert R. Torkelson—Trinchero Family Estates

  • Alternate: Anthony Torres—Trinchero Family Estates

At-large Director: Michael Walker—Constellation Brands, Inc.

  • Alternate: Tiffanie De Liberty—Constellation Brands, Inc.

At-large Director: Christine Wente—Wente Family Estates

  • Alternate: Aly Wente—Wente Family Estates

At-large Director: Jolene Yee—Delicato Family Wines

  • Alternate: Kathleen Mayhew—Delicato Family Wines

About Wine Institute

Wine Institute is the public policy advocacy group of more than 1,000 California wineries and affiliated businesses, working at the state, national and international levels. Based in San Francisco, with offices in Sacramento, Washington, D.C., six regions across the U.S. and 13 foreign countries, Wine Institute is guided by 80 vintners who are members and alternates on an active board of directors. The board elects the Chairman and officers on an annual basis.

Region: California, USA
Job Function: Chairman

Copyright© 1994-2021 by Wine Communications Group. All Rights Reserved. Copyright protection extends to all written material, graphics, backgrounds and layouts. None of this material may be reproduced for any reason without written permission of the Publisher. Wine Business Insider, Wine Business Monthly, Grower & Cellar News and Wine Market News are all trademarks of Wine Communications Group and will be protected to the fullest extent of the law.