- Homepage for the Wine Industry

ASEV Presents $100,000 in Scholarships at the 68th National Conference

Among the 37 recipients, two students: Megan Hall (Viticulture) of Cornell University, New York, and Sydney Morgan (Enology) of the University of British Columbia, Canada, were the first to receive ASEV's new Presidents' Award for Scholarship
August 02, 2017

Davis, Calif., …For 37 enology and viticulture students throughout North America, the pursuit of scientific research and advancement just got a little easier thanks to the American Society for Enology and Viticulture’s (ASEV) awarding of $100,000 in scholarships.

Among the 37 recipients, two students: Megan Hall (Viticulture) of Cornell University, New York, and Sydney Morgan (Enology) of the University of British Columbia, Canada, were the first to receive ASEV’s new Presidents’ Award for Scholarship. Hall and Morgan each received $12,500 as a special scholarship for exceptional students who exceeded expectations of the traditional scholarship program and showed remarkable leadership potential.

Additionally, ASEV awarded 35 students with scholarships totaling $75,000 to support their studies in enology and viticulture. These students, along with the 2017 Best Student Presentation Award winners, were honored at the Student-Industry Mixer, ending the 68th National Conference with a brighter outlook for the future.

“ASEV provides a host of services to the industry, but we’re especially proud of our continuing and expanding commitment to elevating the future of this industry. Our scholarships to exceptional students all over North America are one of the many ways we help build future leaders and ensure the advancement of the wine industry. We increased our scholarship funding by 33 percent this year by introducing the Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture and finding two amazing recipients for this honor,” said outgoing ASEV President Nichola Hall of Scott Labs.

“ASEV has really helped me along these past few years and receiving this award is a huge honor,” said Megan Hall, recipient of the ASEV Presidents’ Award for Viticulture. “This award has allowed me to meet with board members in ways I have not been able to before and be able to talk to them about opportunities. This is just the beginning, so I’m excited to see what comes next.”

“It’s such an honor to be recognized for my commitment and my research work,” said Sydney Morgan, ASEV Presidents’ Award recipient for Enology. “I have had such a great experience with ASEV. This has really opened a lot of doors for me. I’m excited to bring other students on-board with me, especially in Canada and other regions in North America and tell them about the opportunities ASEV offers students in the wine research field. ”

In addition to the scholarships, ASEV recognized student presentations in oral, poster and flash talk formats. The following are the winners of the 2017 Best Student Presentation Awards:


Oral Presentation: Jake Uretsky, University of California, Davis, A Preliminary Study of Taxonomic and Geographic Relationships among Accessions of Vitis berlandieri and Associated Taxa

Poster: Karla Huerta, University of California, Davis, Evaluation of Genetic Diversity in Wild Vitis from Northern and Central Mexico

Flash Talk: Garret Stahl, Washington State University, Tri-Cities, Evaluation of Stomatal Conductance as an Irrigation Scheduling Tool in Grapevine


Oral Presentation: Zachary Cartwright, Washington State University, Pullman, Reduction of Brettanomyces bruxellensis Populations from Oak Barrel Staves Using Steam

Poster: Lingjun Ma, University of California, Davis, Tannin Reacts with SO2 during Aging, Yielding Newly Discovered Flavan-3-ol Sulfonates in Wine

Flash Talk: Paul Mawdsley, California Polytechnic Institute, San Luis Obispo, Effect of Timing of Cluster Thinning on Pinot noir Grapes and Wines

“I’ve noticed the quality in the student presentations submitted and presented during the National Conference is higher, making it more competitive. It’s only getting tougher to choose who to give the awards to, but that’s a good problem to have,” said Kristen Barnhisel of J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, ASEV Second Vice President and Chair for the Scholarship Committee and Best Student Presentation Committee. “I love that I get to work with some of the best students in the country and give them a conduit to start a career in the industry through scholarships, professional development, mentorship and networking at the conference.”

The following is the list of scholarship recipients:
ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture
Megan Hall (Viticulture), Cornell University, New York
Sydney Morgan (Enology), University of British Columbia, Canada
ASEV Traditional Scholarship
Kathleen Amaral, California State University, Fresno
Theodore Baglien, Oregon State University, Corvallis
Jordan Beaver, University of California, Davis
Robert Beezer, Washington State University, Pullman
Mathias Bougreau, Texas Tech University, Lubbock
Zachary Cartwright, Washington State University, Pullman
Christopher Chen, University of California, Davis
Ruiming Chen, Cornell University, New York
Natasha Cureau, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Carina Duran, Oregon State University, Corvallis
Katherine East, Washington State University, Prosser
Laila Fayyaz, University of California, Davis
Molly Felts, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Jaclyn Fiola,* Ohio State University, Columbus
Suzanne Fleishman, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Ian Forest, University of Nevada, Reno
Andrew Harner, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Karla Huerta, University of California, Davis
Todd Jenkins, University of California, Davis
Jared Johnson, Oregon State University, Corvallis
Chase Jutzi, Oregon State University, Corvallis
Anne Kearney, Cornell University, New York
Yevgen Kovalenko, University of British Columbia, Canada
Edward Kronfli, University of California, Davis
Jerry Lin, University of California, Davis
Xiaochi Ma, Washington State University, Pullman
Margaret McCoy, Washington State University, Prosser
Curtis Merrick, Washington State University, Pullman
Andy Nguyen, University of California, Davis
Matthew Noestheden, University of British Columbia, Canada
Steven Schneider, Missouri State University, Springfield
Maria Smith, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Jacob Uretsky, University of California, Davis
Xuefei Wang, Washington State University, Pullman
Runze Yu, University of California, Davis
*Recipient of the ASEV Michael Vail Scholarship

For more information about scholarships and best student presentation awards, visit


Ken Freeze

Subscribe to Daily news Email

FREE Wine Business Daily News delivers the industry's top stories emailed to you from our editorial team.

Copyright© 1994-2017 by Wine Communications Group. All Rights Reserved. Copyright protection extends to all written material, graphics, backgrounds and layouts. None of this material may be reproduced for any reason without written permission of the Publisher. Wine Business Insider, Wine Business Monthly, Grower & Cellar News and Wine Market News are all trademarks of Wine Communications Group and will be protected to the fullest extent of the law.