- Homepage for the Wine Industry

You're Invited to Submit Your Nominations for the New York Wine & Grape Foundation Unity Awards

Nominations Due by January 17th, 2020
by Press Release
December 17, 2019

The winery and grower community in New York state has a rich history of working and succeeding together despite facing a variety of challenges through the years. Recognizing the longstanding and bold spirit of our community members and their numerous achievements, the New York Wine & Grape Foundation has been honoring industry leaders, champions, and heroes since 1990. Submit your nomination today.

When are the awards presented? Winners will be honored at the Unity Awards Luncheon during the B.E.V. NY Conference on February 26th, 2020 in Rochester, NY. All winners receive a registration to the Business Day of the event and will be recognized on the New York Wine & Grape Foundation website, announced via press release, and will be provided with a free year of membership in the Foundation. Winners will also be provided with marketing collateral to help them promote their achievement.

Who can submit a nomination. The New York Wine & Grape Foundation invites individuals representing grower, winery, or related business entities to submit their nominations by January 17th, 2020. You may make a nomination for any number of categories, simply click "Next" on the form to move to your desired award. NOTE: You may only nominate one person or entity per category. The same person or entity shouldnot be nominated in multiple categories. 

Award Eligibility. When considering your nominations, please keep in mind that Foundation Board members are not eligible. While they are deserving of many thanks for their time and energy, they will not be entered into the running for these awards while they are still on the Board.

Sponsorship Opportunities. This year we are excited to give our Business Associate Members the opportunity to support and attend the Unity Banquet Awards Luncheon as well. Show your support by sponsoring one of our prestigious award categories. This opportunity will help shine a spotlight on your business, provide you with tickets to the luncheon and much more. Learn more here

Award Categories

The Jim Trezise Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a lifelong commitment to the New York wine and grape industry and made impactful contributions that advanced the industry.

Read more about Jim Trezise

The Phyllis Feder Unity Award

This award was established in 1990 and recognizes individuals who have volunteered their time, shown exceptional leadership, and achieved recognized results in building industry co-operation and unity. This award is now named in honor of Phyllis Feder. 

Read more about Phyllis Feder.

The Jim Finkle Industry Award

This award is intentionally broad in scope in order to recognize outstanding achievements in aspects of the industry not directly covered by the Unity and other awards. The area may be marketing, promotion, legislative, organizational or other. Starting in 2016, this award was named in honor of Jim Finkle.

Read more about the legacy of Jim Finkle.

The Grower Award

Given for the first time in 1993, this award recognizes an individual for dedication and contributions to the New York grape industry.

The Winery Award

Since 2002, we have presented a Winery Award, which recognizes major contributions in advancing the image and reputation of the New York wine industry.

Research Award

This award recognizes major contributions in the area of grape growing, processing, and wine research, and may be presented to scientists, industry members or others.

Sustainability Award

Given for the first time in 2019, the Sustainability Award recognizes an organization or business that has demonstrated noteworthy sustainable practices and a commitment to conserving natural resources, protecting our environment, and contributing to the overall success of the New York State economy. The winner of the first Sustainability Award was Long Island Sustainable Winegrowing (LISW).

Ron Reals Distributor Award

This award, was first presented in 2005 to recognize achievement in distributing and

promoting New York wines. Starting in 2016, this award was named in honor of Ron Reals. Read more about the legacy of Ron Reals.

Restaurant Award

This award recognizes excellence in promoting New York wines in a fine dining experience.

Retailer Award

This award is presented to wine stores which do an exceptional job in educating consumers about the quality and variety of New York wines.

Consumer Award

Established in 1998 for “enthusiastic” support of the New York wines industry and for exemplifying the use of wine as part of a happy, healthy lifestyle.

Please click here for a list of past recipients.

Submit Your Nominations by January 17th!

Copyright© 1994-2020 by Wine Communications Group. All Rights Reserved. Copyright protection extends to all written material, graphics, backgrounds and layouts. None of this material may be reproduced for any reason without written permission of the Publisher. Wine Business Insider, Wine Business Monthly, Grower & Cellar News and Wine Market News are all trademarks of Wine Communications Group and will be protected to the fullest extent of the law.