- Homepage for the Wine Industry

ASEV Announces 2014 Best Enology and Viticulture Paper Awards

April 11, 2014

The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) has announced the 2014 best enology and viticulture paper awards, based on all research articles published in the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) in 2013. The authors will be recognized at the 65th ASEV National Conference on June 23-27, 2014, in Austin, Texas.

The 2014 Best Paper Award for Viticulture was given to Postveraison Application of Antitranspirant Di-1-p-Menthene to Control Sugar Accumulation in Sangiovese Grapevines by Alberto Palliotiti (Universitá di Perugia), Francesco Panara, Franco Famiani, Paolo Sabbatini, G. Stanley Howell, Oriana Silverstroni and Stefano Poni.

The paper recognized with the Best Enology Award is Sensory Impact of Extended Maceration and Regulated Deficit Irrigration on Washington State Cabernet Sauvignon Wines by L. Federico Casassa (Washington State University), Richard C. Larsen, Christopher W. Beaver, Maria S. Mireles, Markus Keller, William R. Riley, Russell Smithyman and James F. Harbertson.

“The Palliotti et al. paper demonstrated how complex science can be presented in a very concise, yet meaningful manner. Their results increase our understanding not only of antitranspirants, but also how limitations (forced and nonforced) of leaf function impact the ripening and ultimate composition of grapes. From a practical standpoint, antitranspirants could be considered where low alcohol wines are desired or where climate changes create undesired ripening effects. The Casassa et al. paper integrated sound, practical vineyard irrigation treatments with a very thorough and multifaceted evaluation of wine properties. The committee was especially impressed by the detailed sensory evaluations of the wines and clear presentation about how the perceptions of the wines were influenced by the deficit irrigation treatments. This was a very exhaustive, thorough and cross-disciplinary effort and could help growers and wineries strategize irrigation practices,” says Best Paper Awards Committee Chair Mark Greenspan.

Each year, the ASEV Best Paper Awards Committee evaluates all manuscripts published in the AJEV the previous year and based on a standardized rating scale they select one paper in viticulture and one in enology that reflect outstanding research and a substantial contribution to the field. In addition to Committee Chair Mark Greenspan of Advanced Viticulture; the 2014 committee members include viticulture paper reviewers Michael Sipiora of Quintessa, Hans Walter-Peterson of Cornell University and Lise Asimont of Francis Ford Coppola Presents, and Nichola Hall of Scott Laboratories, Leticia Chacón-Rodríguez of Treasury Wine Estates, and Tim Milos of Vino di Milos LLC reviewing the enology papers.

The two papers that were granted these awards are currently highlighted at and are available free of charge.

Subscribe to Daily news Email

FREE Wine Business Daily News delivers the industry's top stories emailed to you from our editorial team.

Copyright© 1994-2017 by Wine Communications Group. All Rights Reserved. Copyright protection extends to all written material, graphics, backgrounds and layouts. None of this material may be reproduced for any reason without written permission of the Publisher. Wine Business Insider, Wine Business Monthly, Grower & Cellar News and Wine Market News are all trademarks of Wine Communications Group and will be protected to the fullest extent of the law.